South Pasadena Farmer’s Market

On Thursday evenings I always browse the South Pasadena Farmer’s Market. It is probably the best one in LA county.  Most of the vendors are certified organic and extremely local. I met Michelle Goldman from Living Lettuce. Her farm is in Reseda. Can’t get much more local than that. I hope to purchase  her lettuce greens and herbs  for Fiore.

When I go to the market I  bring my camera. Today was no exception. Here are some photographs.

The first one is of Lissa Reynolds. She is the owner of the Fremont Centre Theatre that Fiore is now a part of. Check out their website. She has a new musical starting on November 26th called Sweet Mama Green Bean. Anne and I got a glimpse of the show during the intermission of her last show called Top Dog UnderDog. Her husband, James was the director of that terrific show Their son Jed was one of the actors. It was a two man show that really dealt with some fascinating issues. I don’t go to many plays, but this one hit me hard. Made me think about so many things.

The picture of her was taken at the temporary art gallery for SPARC. They were supposed to be squatters  for 48 hours. Luckily it has turned out to be months. They’re hoping to stay in the space for years.

SPARC is the South Pasadena Arts Council where Lissa is striving to make ART a big part of daily life for everyone in  South Pasadena. They recently had their Giant Easel Event at Art Walk on October 23rd.

Here are some other photographs from my stroll.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

