Summertime

(My Idea Of A Summer Car)

Brian from the Blue Hour asked people to respond with their favorite things about summer. He received over 180 responses. I wrote my comment and clicked on the box to receive follow-up comments via email. My I-phone kept buzzing every time a new response rolled in. I was very busy.

Here are a few of my favorite things about summer. I am not working this summer for the first time since I was 14 years old. Brings back old memories of summer vacation as a kid.

The only thing I hate about summer is that it flies by. This weekend is already the 4th of July. Yikes.

Enjoy the rest of the summer everyone.

– Making pizza at least twice a week in the wood oven with my two boys. They have become pros.
– Eating ice cream as often as possible usually at Scoops on Heliotrope and Melrose. (ice cream for me is not just a summer thing)
– Going to the mall just to hang out with my wife. We usually end up buying books or eating more ice cream.
– Taking my son James driving in the empty parking lot down the street.
– Making homemade ice cream. This summer we’ll make some vegan ice cream with almond milk and fresh berries.
– Grilling Louisiana hot links on the BBQ and then serving them in buns with home grown serano peppers.
– Growing tomatoes in big pots on the patio. The first one is almost ripe. By Sunday 4th of July it will be ready.
– Tomato sandwiches on homemade bread with lots of mayonnaise and salt and pepper. Maybe a few basil leaves.
– Watching the Tour d’France every morning in July with my two boys who spend the whole time talking about Lance Armstrong being on Steroids.
– Watermelon, strawberries, cherries and peaches when they are finally ripe. Oh I forgot Cherries in June. I made some cherry jam on Sunday.
– Eating lunch with Anne and my boys. We sit at the table with no distractions like tv or magazines. In the summer we’ll eat outside.

A few new sites I have been hanging out at:
Pinterest
The Eternal Worrier
the blog camp 365 in 2010 project
The English Can Cook {It’s an underground supper club)
The One Minute Writer
El Corte a La Inglesa
The Hymn for The Cigarettes

A couple of songs:

Patrick Watson The Great Escape

Bombay Bicycle Club Dust on the Ground

2 thoughts on “Summertime

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

