Pictures before a rain

Rain. Is that possible in Los Angeles on June 10th? It never rains in the summer, but this morning when I went out for the paper I felt a mist on my bald head. It was very, very light, but there nonetheless. When I was growing up as a kid in Chicago summer meant thunderstorms, huge raucous affairs with tons of rain in a short period of time, huge streaks of lightening flashing through the sky and claps of thunder that scared the crap out of me. Not because it was so loud but more because of it’s startling nature.

The amount of water that fell from the sky was massive. Streets flooded within seconds and if you weren’t careful you could easily get stuck under a viaduct with your car submerged in two feet of water.

I remember driving in our station wagon during those storms. My dad was at the wheel. He would take the dip to go under the viaduct and hit that water like a ride at Disney Land. The car would make that swooshing noise as it entered the water. It was so deep that you go see trash floating by the window. I was always waiting for the water to come up through the floorboards and soak us all. It never happened. Pops just pulled us through at the other end and we went on our merry way.

I don’t have to worry about that craziness here in Los Angeles. I am sure the sun will be up right about the time I am eating my lunch.

Here are some photographs I took the other day. It was overcast. It must have been the morning.

A few news blogs that I have found recently:

the eternal worrier, secret forts, anarchy in a jar

Music anyone?

Cass McCombs-You Saved my Life, Fyfe Dangerfield- Faster That The Setting Sun

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

