An Old, But Still Working Espresso Machine

I have had this machine since May of 2006. It has been in my garage since that time sitting on a table covered with a plastic tarp. One of the few things in the garage that I have taken the time to cover. My garage is very old and extremely dusty and full of cobwebs.

I got this machine out of one of my restaurants that had been sold. I found a dealer to buy just about everything except this machine. I hung on to it even though at the time it wasn’t working. It had always been kinda a clunker. It worked on and off and most of the time it was off.

I had it looked at by the manufacturer, Pasquini. They said the machine was old and needed lots of work. They claimed that many of the parts needed to be replaced and I would be better off replacing it with a newer model. I didn’t quite believe it. It didn’t make sense. The machine was sturdy. It seemed to be made well. How could it need so much work. They quoted me a price of up to $1000.

I took the machine anyhow and left it in the garage. My plan was to use it in my own restaurant or possible in my home if I could find space for it.

It languished in the garage for years and I wasn’t anxious to do anything about it because I remembered the prognosis of the Pasquini people.

A few months ago I lost my job and the dream of opening my own restaurant was ignited one more time. I figured I would need an espresso machine so I decided to have the machine checked out again by someone other than Pasquini. I called Bill Humphrey The Espresso Guy. I had met Bill at one of my other restaurants. He was the first person who I had ever met who could fix an espresso machine without stealing from you. He was fair, honest and pretty quick.

I dropped the machine at his house and waited for the call. I expected the worst “Aw Bill it’s not worth repairing. Forget about it”, but NOOOO. When he finally called he said “Wow, that’s a pretty good machine. Just needed a little tune-up”.

What you gotta be kidding me. That sat in my garage for 6 years for no good reason.
I learned some lessons from all this:
1. You never know.
2. Get a second opinion.
3. Trust your gut.
4. There are some honest people out there who want to help you out. You just have to find them.
5. Expectations are not always right.
6. Some things are worth holding on to.
7. Can’t live without espresso. oops. I already knew that one.

Here is a picture of Bill The Espresso Man right before he started working on my machine.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

