Russian Kale and Raddicchio Salad

Looking for a legal quick pick me up? Try eating some kale. That may sound a bit funny as if eating kale can somehow make you feel better. My family laughs at me because I believe this to be so.

It’s true for me. Almost as good as espresso, but not quite.

Today I made a very simple salad of Russian kale and raddicchio. I bought the kale at the Pasadena farmer’s market. Russian kale is a bit different than the kale you find in your local supermarket. It’s greenish/purple and has a broad flat deckle-edged leaf (I looked this up on Google because I couldn’t figure out a way to describe it). Kale is rich in antioxidants and is high in beta carotene, vitamin K, vitamin C, lutein, zeaxanthin, and somewhat rich in calcium. It also contains sulforaphane which is believed to be beneficial for fighting cancer.

Most recipes require kale to be steamed or boiled for anywhere from 8 to 20 minutes. The longer it cooks the softer it gets. I prefer it blanched for 5-7 minutes because it retains it’s freshness and vibrant green color.

For this salad I sliced it very thin like you might cut cabbage for cole slaw. I also cut a half of a head of raddicchio in the same manner. I then washed them thoroughly in a big bowl of cold water and then dried the kale and raddicchio in a dish towel.

I made a vinaigrette with Dijon mustard, apple cider vinegar, a little maple syrup and olive oil. I seasoned it with salt and pepper.

I then tossed the kale and raddicchio in the dressing and let it sit for about an hour so that the kale would wilt a little. Since the kale is raw it is very tough and the vinegar and salt help to break it down.

I chilled it in the refrigerator and VOILA.

If I am feeling a little sluggish or am starting to get a cold I make myself some steamed kale with olive oil and lemon and it helps to keep the cold at bay.

2 thoughts on “Russian Kale and Raddicchio Salad

Add yours

  1. Ciao Kristina,

    This one is a little rough because the kale is such a hearty vegetable. I like to let it marinade in the dressing for up to 3hours. It helps to break it down a bit.

    Thanks for your comment.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

